How To Make a GoPro Timelapse Video

  1. Frame It Up Well: The first time I used the GoPro to shoot a time-lapse series I was so excited about what I was doing (with the camera) that I forgot what I was actually doing (shooting images). What I ended up with was 2000 poorly framed and poorly exposed images. Which I deleted after we returned home from the Galapagos. It was a few hours of Galapagos midday sky and water activity – and it would have been beautiful if I had just taken my time setting up the shot.
  2. Use a Tripod: Without a tripod, your images will not blend properly into a watchable video. I travel with a Joby Gorillapod (the one for dSLR cameras) which works well for the GoPro and the much heavier dSLR cameras. This way I don’t have to carry two tripods. The attachments and mounts come with the GoPro kit. To setup like I did below, you’ll just need the Gorillapod – and it’s worth every cent.
  3. Don’t Worry About Every Image: Not every image is going to be good. Don’t worry about it. When you sit down to create your video, you can quickly scroll through the images and delete any that have an extra object. The first image below shows me grasping for a memory card as it fell into the water. The other 2 images show me checking on the GoPro display to make sure it still had enough memory and then taking a photo of the setup with another camera. Because of the number of photos used, you can easily delete the ones that you aren’t happy with – and no one else will know.
  4. Use a Large (and Fast) Memory Card: After reading about it on a number of blogs – I ordered a 32GB Class 10 memory card. While a slower card might be okay for a point-and-shoot camera, the GoPro is made to produce high resolution images very fast. A slower card probably won’t keep up with the incoming new images. And when you are shooting your time-lapse, the last thing you want to worry about is running out of memory.
  5. Be Prepared to Wait: You will need to have patience. Don’t setup a time-lapse unless you have some time on your hands. The video below took 90 minutes of shooting to produce a 30 second video. The settings I used are below. Because I used a good tripod, I was able to walk around, play in the sand with my daughter and walk in the waves with Dena. I’m in a number of the shots.
  6. Take Your Time Editing: Every time-lapse is different. There is no rule that determines what your frame rate playback should be. I have had good success with 15 fps for clouds and sunsets. But this frame rate makes road traffic look like it is hyperactive. Experiment and have fun. You might need to output each set of images a few different ways to see what looks best. And choose some appropriate music. Because a time-lapse is just a bunch of photos, there is no sound. You will need to add something to the clip to keep it alive.
  7. Click here to see best gopro accessories kit must have 2016,and for more amazing video of ZOOKKI, please subscribe ZOOKKI YouTube Channel.

Leave a comment